Green America: Growing the Green Economy for People and the Planet

GREEN AMERICAN

Live better.
Save more. Invest wisely.
Make a difference.

November/December 2012

Finding the Greenest Underwear

After we published our “Green Fashion” issue of the Green American (July/August 2012), member Joyce Zehnle wrote to ask us a personal question. “I have looked in many places but have not been able to find organic cotton underpants for women,” she wrote. “I would appreciate your providing that information.”

Your wish is our command, Joyce. We asked our summer intern Liana Corwin to scour the National Green Pages to find certified green businesses offering eco-undies and socks. Here’s what she (ahem) uncovered.

1. BECKONS organic, 303/881-0872, www.beckonsorganic.com, Organic cotton sports bras for women.

2. BGreenApparel, 310/667-9030, www.bgreenapparel.com, Organic cotton underwear for men and women.

3. Blue Canoe, 888/923-1373, www.bluecanoe.com, Organic cotton, and organic cotton and bamboo blend bras and underwear for women.

4. Circle Creations, 541/344-4756, www.circlecreations.net, Hemp and organic cotton blend underwear for men; soy and organic cotton blend underwear and bras; and hemp and organic cotton blend bras for women.

5. Cottonfield, 818/510-0090, www.cottonfieldusa.com, Organic cotton underwear for men and women; organic cotton bras for women.

6. Decent Exposures, Inc., 800/524-4949, www.decentexposures.com, Organic cotton bras and underwear for women.

7. Deva Lifeware, Inc., 800/222-8024, www.devalifewear.com, Organic cotton bras and underwear for women.

8. Ecocentrik Apparel, 877/326-3680, www.ecocentrikapparel.com, Organic cotton underwear for women.

9. Eco-Fabrik, 877/934-6326,  www.ecofabrik.com, Bamboo and organic cotton boxers for men; organic cotton boxer sleep-shorts for women; organic cotton socks for babies.

10. Ecoland Inc., 714/523-8860, www.ecolandinc.com, Organic cotton socks and underwear for men, women, and children; organic cotton bras for women.

11. EcoPlanet—EcoChoices Green Store, 626/969-3707, www.ecobodywear.com, Bamboo and organic cotton underwear, and organic cotton and organic wool socks for men and women; organic cotton bras and organic cotton tights for women.

12. Esperanza Threads: Organic Apparel and Goods, 800/397-0045, www.esperanzathreads.com, Organic cotton socks for men, women, and children.

13. FaeriesDance.com, 866/492-4841, www.FaeriesDance.com, Organic cotton, and organic cotton and soy blend underwear and bras for women; organic cotton, and organic cotton and bamboo blend bras for women.

14. FairTribe, 800/397-0045,  www.fairtribe.com, Underwear made from a blend of plant-based fibers and viscose from organic bamboo for women.

15. GAIAM, Inc., 800/869-3603, www.Gaiam.com, Organic cotton underwear, bras, and socks for women.

16. Happy Green Bee, 800/209-0094, www.happygreenbee.com, Organic cotton socks for children.

17. It's Our Nature®, 888/535-7448,  www.itsournature.com, Organic cotton underwear and socks for men and women; organic cotton socks for children.

18. Jonäno, 877/326-9753, www.jonano.com, Organic bamboo blend socks, and organic bamboo and spandex blend underwear for women.

19. Kasper Organics, 866/913-5234, www.kasperorganics.com, Organic cotton underwear and socks for men and women; organic cotton bras for women.

20. Maggie's Organics, 800/609-8593,  www.maggiesorganics.com, Fairly traded and organic socks, tights, leggings, and more.

21. Modern Vintage Attic, 780/887-7174,  www.modernvintageattic.com, Vintage fabric and organic cotton underwear for women.

22. NatureWear Organics, 508/248-3116, www.naturewearorganics.com, Organic cotton blend underwear and bras for women.

23. Nancy’s Gone Green, 508/733-2486, www.nancysgonegreen.com, Organic cotton underwear and bras for women; plant-based fibers and viscose from bamboo blend underwear for women.

24. Sweet Skins Designs, 541/ 543-7195, www.sweetskins.com, Hemp and organic cotton blend underwear for women; hemp and organic cotton blend socks for men and women.

25. Urban Fox, LLC, 773/501-3446, www.urbanfoxeco.com, Organic cotton, organic linen, and bamboo underwear for women.

 



 

 




Green American
Green American -  a vision of the future delivered right to your door
Your Green America membership includes:
a FREE subscription to the Green American
a FREE copy of our National Green Pages™
a FREE copy of our Guide to Socially Responsible Investing

 



Vision Capital

 



Vision Capital